Application Letter

September 6, 2009 at 11:32 PM (Uncategorized)

Tan Wei Hong
Blk 03-07-A
Prince George’s Park Residence
Singapore 118425
Mobile number: 96755563
Email: tanweihong@nus.edu.sg

05 September 2009

Simon Ho Chen kee
Foot Print Hostel Pte Ltd
Perak Court
25A Perak Road
Singapore 208136
Footprintshostel@gmail.com

Dear Mr Simon Ho,

I will be graduating this August from National University of Singapore (NUS) with an Honours Degree in Science (Chemistry) and am interested in the opportunities at Foot Print Hostel as a Guest Relation Officer.

During my undergrad studies, I have work for a number of NUS Departments as a service crew. Notably, I was the team leader of the Student Ambassadors at the NUS Alumni Club House and was in-charge of deployment of manpower, overseeing maintenance work and also other Administrative duties. As Team Leader, I often have to resolve conflicts with a dissatisfied patron and also handle demanding and unreasonable guest. Thus, I am sensitive to customers’ request and also able to identify areas of improvements before they become a source of inconvenience to the guests.

I was also a Resident Assistant at Prince George’s Park Residence which house over 2800 residents. As a Resident Assistant, I was involved in many projects and events which was fully planned and executed by us. I was the Programme Director for the Welcome Festival in 2009 which lasted a month. It comprises of activities, workshops, various services and a carnival for the freshmen. As programme director, I have to work independently on times and also with the committee to make sure all activities run smoothly. This made me a versatile team player and also able to make good judgement.

The student community in the Residence is made up of students from many countries and of diverse backgrounds. Being friendly and approachable, many residents confided in me and I was able to build lasting friendship with them. Interacting closely with these residents I’ve learnt to be culturally sensitive and also become aware of many of their traditions and customs. Wanting to be able to understand and be of service better, I have taken many language modules or Cultural studies modules offered in NUS. I am able to converse in Vietnamese, Bahasah Indonesia and Japanese apart from my Native Tongue. Please refer to my resume for further details.

I love meeting new people, understanding and getting to know them and at the same time sharing with them the joy of living in Singapore. The position as a Guest Relation Officer will be a great opportunity to carry on doing what I love and holds passion for.  Please consider my application.

Thank You.

Yours Sincerely,

Tan Wei Hong

http://sg.jobstreet.com/jobs/2009/8/default/20/2131689.htm?fr=J

3 Comments

  1. danhua said,

    Hi Weihong,
    Overall I think this is a good application letter. You have illustrated your skills related to the position very well. However, I have to point out that, it maybe a bit long for a cover letter. Maybe you can introduce your skills in 2 paragraphs instead of 3 paragraphs. I think you don’t need to talk about all the things you have done, focus on one outstanding one may be better.
    Regards,
    danhua

  2. Lim Eileen said,

    Hi wei hong

    Overall I think you had provided details in your application letter. It made me know your personality and abilities to work better after reading your letter.

    I think there are some grammer mistakes in your application letter for example “During my undergrad studies, I have work for a number of NUS Departments as a service crew”, I think it should be had instead of have. In addition, I think you should spell undergrad in full i.e. undergraduate studies. Also, some words like august(first paragraph),residence(fourth paragraph) shouldnt be spelled in capital letter. Guide me if I am wrong.

    Lastly, i think the pharse “Please consider my application” sound demanding, perhaps “I hope to hear from you soon” will be a better phrase?

    Thanks

    Eileen

  3. keerth said,

    Hi Wei Hong,

    I think your cover letter was well written to suit to the job scope as a ‘guest relation officer.’ I found some very minor errors like ‘I have work for a number of NUS Departments’ it should be ‘worked’ and a few more errors. Maybe you should re-read your letter to ensure it is error free. I think it is very important to ensure there are no mistakes in application letters.

    Hope this helps:D

    Cheers,
    Keerth

Leave a comment